Vidyasagar University

Vidyasagar University was established in 1981 and is named after one of the most illustrious sons of the district, Pandit Iswar Chandra Vidyasagar. It was Professor A K Gayen of IIT kharagapur who mooted the idea  of establishing a university in the region. Based on his recommendation and that of the UGC, Vidyasagar University was formed in Midnapore on the ground of its ‘having a compact area and a manageable number of colleges.’ Professor Bhupesh Chandra Mukherjee joined as the first Vice Chancellor of the University on 29th September 1981.

Academic Programmes in Vidyasagar University

The University presently houses 27 PG departments (apart from this course – MBA - being run under the Department of Commerce with Farm Management), 12 in Humanities and 15 in Science while 46 undergraduate colleges apart from 11 courses in yet 11 other colleges / institutes are affiliated to it. Fourteen vocational subjects and six other specialized courses are also offered at the UG level. The overall emphasis of the university is not to perpetuate the traditional nature of the other universities of West Bengal but to merge as a distinctive entity with a special nature of its own. 

Faculties and Departments

Faculty of Arts & Commerce
  • Bengali
  • Business Administration
  • Commerce with Farm Management
  • Economics with Rural Development
  • English
  • Hindi
  • History
  • Library and Information Science
  • Philosophy and the Life-World
  • Political Science with Rural Administration
  • Sanskrit
  • Santali
  • Sociology
Faculty of Science
  • Anthropology
  • Applied Mathematics with Oceanology and Computer Programming
  • Aquaculture Management & Technology
  • Bio-Medical Laboratory Science & Management
  • Botany and Forestry
  • Chemistry and Chemical Technology
  • Computer Science
  • Electronics
  • Geography and Environment Management
  • Human Physiology with Community Health
  • Microbiology
  • Physics and Technophysics
  • Remote Sensing and GIS
  • Zoology

Library of Vidyasagar University

The Central Library of Vidyasagar University was established in 1986 with the commencement of six Post Graduate departments. Since then it has grown in leap and bounds

The Central Library has also initiated a well-equipped Centre for Digital Resource Services (Digital Library) from where users can access e-resources and Institutional Repositories.

The Central Library now caters to the need of more than 3100 Post-Graduate students and Research Scholars, nearly 220 faculty members of 32 departments, about 160 non-teaching and administrative staff of this institute. Besides, its services are extended to a number of other organizations also through institutional membership services.

The central library of Vidyasagar University, being a member of UGC-Infonet Digital Library Consortium, provides online access to more than 7 thousand peer-reviewed full text journals and database services. It has also a good collection of Electronic books in its Digital Resource Centre. 

Hostels in Vidyasagar University

1. Old Boys' Hostel (Kshudiram Chhatrabas)
Seat capacity – 182 persons

2. New Boys' Hostel (Sidhu Kanu Birsa Chhatrabas)
Seat capacity – 120 persons

3. Old Girls’ Hostel (Matangini Chhatrinibas)
Seat capacity – 187 persons

2. New Girl' Hostel (Pritilata Chhatrinibas)
Seat capacity – 120 persons

Women research scholars have been provided with single unit residential facility in the residential campus.

All the students’ hostels of the university are provided with computers with internet facility from common server of the university.

Contact Details

Vidyasagar University
Pashchim Medinipur

Connect me with the Top Colleges