University of North Bengal

The University of North Bengal was established  in 1962 at the foothills of high Himalaya surrounded by tea gardens and Kanchenjunga. The mission of the University is“to encourage and provide for instruction for teaching, training and research in various branches of learning and course of study; to promote advancement and dissemination of knowledge and learning and to extend higher education to meet the growing needs of society.”

The University offers undergraduate, post-graduate programs covering six districts of North Bengal and the neighbouring state of Sikkim. Since its inception it has expanded and spread its wings to various academic fields and provided education at a low cost but of global standard.

Renowned teachers who have published more than 500 books and journals have graced the University from time to time.  

Twenty three Departments of the Arts, Commerce, and Law Faculty as well as of Science Faculty have organized 58 numbers of Seminars and Workshops during the year 2013-2014.

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Arts, Commerce and Law

Affiliated Colleges of the University of North Bengal

A total of 64 colleges till date are affiliated to the University of North Bengal:

Darjeeling: 30
Jalpaiguri: 16
Cooch Behar: 4
Alipurduar: 12
Uttar Dinajpur: 2

For the complete list of colleges, click here 

Research in University of North Bengal

Some of the key areas of research in the University of North Bengal includes: 

  • Fusion Plasmas and Plasma Technology 
  • MHD related subject, particularly to channel design and performance
  • Optical, Magnetic and Dielectric property studies of any type of material
  • High and Ultra-high vacuum Technology
  • Thin Films and thin film-based Solid State Devices
  • Environmental Pollution Monitoring
  • Electronic Devices and Instrumentation
  • Food Processing
  • Essential Oil
  • Microbial Analysis of Food and Water
  • Floriculture.
  • Soil analysis and/tea Industry related problems

North Bengal University (NBU) UG Admission 

At UG level, NBU offers BA, B.Sc, BBA, BCA, B.Ed, LL.B, B.Li.Sc and Diploma courses in various specializations. Some courses are also offered in integrated and self-financed modes. 10+2 with PCM/B is the minimum eligibility criteria for admission. 

Before proceeding to fill up the online application form, candidate must that he or she has the required details and scanned image files of recent passport size colour photograph and signature. which will be needed at different stages of process. The entire process of filling online application form can be completed in six stages.

North Bengal University (NBU) PG Admission 

Admission to MA, M.Sc, LL.M and M.LI.Sc courses along with PG Diploma courses in various specializations is on merit basis and written test conducted by the University. Some specializations in M.Sc and PG Diploma programs are offered in Self-Financed mode. Graduation in the relevant discipline is the minimum eligibility criteria for admission.

For all the latest admission notices, click here

For the list of examinations in the University of North Bengal, click here

The Registrar,
University of North Bengal,
Raja Rammohunpur,
West Bengal,
Phone: (O) +91 0353-277633, 2776313

Connect me with the Top Colleges

Talk to our Career Counselors

Coming Soon...


Coming Soon.