University of Calcutta

University  of Calcutta or Calcutta University as is popularly known was established on 24th January 1857 after receiving the despatch from the Court of Directors of East India Company suggesting the establishment of the Universities of Calcutta, Madras and Bombay. The first Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor of the Calcutta University were Governor General Lord Canning and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Sir James William Colvile, respectively.

In 1858, Joddu Nath Bose and Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay became the first graduates of the university while Kadambini Ganguly and Chandramukhi Basu became the first female graduates of the country in 1882. 
The university has a total of 14 campuses spread over the city of Kolkata and its suburbs. The major campuses are the Central Campus (Ashutosh Shiksha Prangan) in College Street, Rashbehari Shiksha Prangan in Rajabazar, Taraknath Palit Shiksha Prangan in Ballygunge and Sahid Khudiram Siksha Prangan in Alipore.

Nobel laureates who either studied or worked here include Rabindranath Tagore, Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman, Ronald Ross, and Amartya Sen. Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose is one of the prominent freedo fighters of India to have studied in Calcutta University. Among the presidents of India associated with this university are Rajendra Prasad and Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, the later having taught here.  Pranab Mukherjee, both studied and taught at affiliated colleges of the university. 

Heads of state from other countries associated with this university include four presidents of Bangladesh, Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Mohammad Mohammadullah, Abu Sadat Mohammad Sayem, Abdus Sattar, two prime ministers of Bangladesh, Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, and Muhammad Mansur Ali, three prime ministers of Pakistan, Mohammad Ali Bogra, Hussein Shaheed Suhrawardy, and Nurul Amin, the first premier of Burma under British rule.

Scholarships Offered by the University of Calcutta

Calcutta University offers a number of scholarships across all disciplines. Anil Chandra Gupta Memorial  Studentship if offered to Bengali and Philosophy students, Bhupendranath Memorial Scholarship for Sanskrit, Dr. Hensi Stephen Scholarship for English and Bhunath Mukherjee Memorial Scholarship for Fine Arts & Sculpture. For details, please click here 

Institute of Agricultural Sciences
  • Agricultural Chemistry & Soil Science
  • Agronomy
  • Genetics & Plant Breeding
  • Plant Physiology
  • Horticulture
  • Seed Science & Technology

Faculty Council for Post-Graduate studies in Arts

  • Ancient Indian History & Culture
  • Arabic & Persian
  • Archaeology
  • Bengali Language and Literature
  • Buddhist Studies
  • Comparative Indian Language and Literature
  • Economics
  • English Language and Literature
  • French
  • Hindi
  • History
  • Islamic History and Culture
  • Languages
  • Linguistics
  • Museology
  • Pali
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Sanskrit
  • Sociology
  • South and South East Asian Studies
  • Tamil Studies
  • Urdu

Faculty Council for Post-Graduate studies in Commerce, Social Welfare & Business Management

  • Business Management
  • Commerce

Faculty Council for Post-Graduate studies in Education, Journalism & Library Science

  • Education
  • Journalism & Mass Communication

Faculty Council for Post-Graduate studies in Engineering & Technology

  • Applied Optics & Photonics
  • Applied Physics
  • Instrumentation Engineering, Applied Physics
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemical Technology
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Polymer Science and Technology
  • Radio Physics and Electronics
  • Jute and Fibre Technology
  • Library and Information Science

Faculty Council for Post-Graduate studies in Fine Arts, Music and Home Science

  • Home Science

Faculty Council for Post-Graduate studies in Law

  • Law

Faculty Council for Post-Graduate studies in Science

  • Anthropology
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Applied Psychology
  • Atmospheric Science
  • Bio-Chemistry
  • Bio-Physics, Molecular Biology and Bioinformatics
  • Biotechnology and Dr. B. C Guha Centre for
  • Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Electronic Science
  • Environmental Science
  • Genetics
  • Geology
  • Geography
  • Marine Science
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Physiology
  • Psychology
  • Pure Mathematics
  • Statistics
  • Zoology
  • S N Pradhan Centre for Neurosciences

Admission to BA LLB

For admission to law courses, a candidate needs to pass Class 12 from any recognised board approved by the University of Calcutta. Entrance test is conducted for admission to the above course. For details, click here

BEd Course

Candidates with at least 50% marks either in the Bachelor’s Degree and/or in the Master’s Degree in Sciences / Humanities/ Social Science, Bachelor’s in Engineering or Technology with specialization in Science and Mathematics with 55% marks or any other qualification equivalent there to are eligible for admission to the Bed programme. For details, click here

MA Admission

Admission to the Masters degree courses is done online through Centralised Admission Process. Candidates are requested to visit the websites daily. For more information, click here

MCom Admission

Admission to MCom courses is done through Centralised Admission process for students who have passed from affiliated undergraduate colleges.

MSc Admission

2-Years M.Sc. Courses are offered in the following subjects:
Physics, Chemistry, Pure Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Electronic Science, Computer & Information Science, Biophysics Molecular Biology, Bio-Technology, Genetics, Anthropology, Human Physiology, Zoology, Botany, Applied Geology, Statistics, Bio Chemistry, Microbiology, Marine Science, Environmental Science, Atmospheric Science, Neuro Science, Exercise Physiology, Sports Biochemistry, Sports Nutrition, Sports Physiotherapy.

Undergraduate Admission in affiliated colleges of University of Calcutta

Admission to undergraduate courses begins once the state board declares result of 10+2. Students are usually admitted from the third week of June and classes start from the third week of July.

Asutosh Museum of Indian Art

Asutosh Museum of Indian Art, the first public museum in any university in India, was established in 1937. Named after Sir Asutosh Mookerjee, this Museum stands for preservation, presentation and study of objects of Indian art and antiquity particularly of eastern India. From a humble beginning with only 5 objects, the museum has  more than 25,000 items consisting of sculptures, paintings, folk-art objects, textiles, terracottas, etc. of extraordinary variety, providing a wide panorama of cultural endeavours of the people throughout the ages.

Campuses of the University of Calcutta

Connect me with the Top Colleges