Rabindra Bharati University

Rabindra Bharati University was established as a state university in 1962 to mark the birth centenary of the legendary poet Rabindranath Tagore. It is dedicated to the mission of disseminating thoughts and ideas of Rabindranath Tagore. It offers undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral courses in humanities, social sciences, art and culture. There are three major faculties Arts, Fine Arts and Visual Arts.

Many renowned actors like Shambu Mitra, Sisir Bhaduri, Manoj Mitra, Ahindra Chaudhuri,  Kumar Ray,  Jogesh Chowdhury, famous singers like Sumitra Sen, Suchitra Mitra, Maya Sen, painters like Shanu Lahiri, Dharmanarayan Dasgupta, well-known musicians like Timir Baran, Sisirkana Dhar Chowdhury,  Pandit Swapan Chowdhury, reputed art historians like Shovan Som have contributed towards the overall development of the University.

To meet the requirements of higher learning in Rabindra Bharati University, it has introduced some popular courses and training for the students. Foreign language courses and training for competitive exams like NET and SET are offered in the University.

The University also fulfills its social responsibility by offering successful courses in Adult Education, Computer Literacy as well as a course in Special Education for the differently-abled, particularly for the Visually Impaired.

Distance Education Programme of Rabindra Bharati University

The university is currently offering 11 Distance Education Programmes which are recognised by the Distance Education Council (DEC) from the Directorate of Distance Education (DDE), Salt Lake Campus (Campus III). Presently the university is offering 11 programmes through Distance Education. 

Research Education in Rabindra Bharati University

A number of Research Centres of the University are engaged in active research expanding the parameters of knowledge. The Women's Studies Centre is an active research centre conducting a number of academic and cultural programmes from the feminist perspectives and women's concern in general. Rabindra Charcha Kendra (Centre for Tagore Studies) is one the oldest and active research centres and has a number of publications on Tagore. The other research centres are:

Research Centres

  • School of Vedic Studies
  • Tagore Research Centre
  • Centre For Gandhian Studies
  • Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Study Centre
  • Centre for Studies in Decentralisation and Rural Reconstruction
  • Women’s Studies Centre
  • Centre For African Studies
  • Performing Arts Therapy Centre
  • UGC SAP-DRS, Department of Instrumental Music 
Faculty of Arts
  • Bengali
  • Economics
  • Education
  • English
  • Library & Information Science
  • History
  • Political Science
  • Philosophy
  • Sanskrit
  • Mathematics
  • Hindi
  • Sociology
  • ENVS
  • Geography
  • HR & HD
  • Adult & Continuing Education
  • Human Development Studies
  • SOLC
  • Centre for Studies on Indigenous People
  • Centre for Women ‘s Studies
Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Rabindra Sangeet
  • Vocal Music
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Instrumental Music
  • Mass Communication & Videography
  • Musicology
Faculty of Visual Arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Graphics (Print Making)
  • Applied Art
  • History of Art
  • Museology

Rabindra Bharati University Library

Rabindra Bharati University Library consists of the Central Library, Sangeet Bhavan Library and departmental libraries attached with academic departments. Currently, the Central Library has a collection of more than 120500 books, 2550 bound volume journals, 800 theses, conference proceedings, reports and rare books. Books are categorized as general books and reference books. Students, research scholars, teachers and other members benefit a lot from the University Library.

Hostels in Rabindra Bharati University

The University has five hostels at present, two for the boys and three for the girls. Construction work for another boys’ hostel is under progress. The total intake capacity in the boys hostel is 145 and the girls hostels can accommodate 50 boarders.

Admission in Rabindra Bharati University

UG Admission
The university offers BA (Hons.), BFA, B.Li.Sc & B.Ed programs in various disciplines under the faculties of Arts, Fine Arts and Visual Arts for which one needs to complete 10 plus 2. Admission is completely based on the marks in the qualifying examination.

PG Admission
M.A, MFA & M.Li.Sc courses are offered in various disciplines. A relevant UG degree is a must to secure admission in MA course. BFA/ BVA degree holders can apply for MFA while B.Li.Sc or any Master’s degree holders are eligible to apply for the M.Li.Sc program.

M.Phil & Ph.D. Admission
The Faculty of Arts, Fine Arts and Visual Arts also offers courses at the doctoral level. Those students who have passed Master’s degree with 55% marks in the relevant discipline are eligible to apply for M.Phil & Ph.D. programs. 

Contact Details
Campus – I (Main Campus)
Address: Emerald Bower Campus, 56A, B. T. Road
City: Kolkata
State: West Bengal
Pin: 700050

Campus – II (Jorasanko Campus)
Address: Jorasanko, 6/4, Dwarakanath Tagore Lane
City: Kolkata
State: West Bengal
Pin: 700007

Campus – III (Salt Lake Campus)
Address: Rabindra  Bhaban, EE 9&10, Sector II, Salt Lake
City: Kolkata
State: West Bengal
Pin: 700091

Website: https://rbu.ac.in/

Connect me with the Top Colleges