Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

The Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (IIT Kharagpur or IIT KGP) is the third oldest technical institute in West Bengal after Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology Shibpur (1856) and Jadavpur University (established as Bengal technical institute in 1906) and the first of the IITs to be established in  India. 

With the help of the then Chief Minister of West Bengal, Bidhan Chandra Roy (chief minister of West Bengal), Indian educationalists Humayun Kabir and Jogendra Singh formed a committee in 1946 to consider the creation of higher technical institutions "for post-war industrial development of India". On the grounds that West Bengal had the highest concentration of industries at the time, Roy persuaded Jawaharlal Nehru to establish the first institute in West Bengal. The first Indian Institute of Technology was thus established in May 1950 as the Eastern Higher Technical Institute. It was located in Esplanade East, Calcutta, and in September 1950 shifted to its permanent campus at Hijli, Kharagpur 120 kilometres south-west of Calcutta.

Established in 1951, IIT Kharagpur started with  224 students and 42 teachers in the ten departments of the institute. The classrooms, laboratories and the administrative office were housed in the historic building of the Hijli Detention Camp (now known as Shaheed Bhawan), where political revolutionaries were imprisoned during the British rule. The office building had served as the headquarters of the Bomber Command of the U.S. 20th Air Force during World War II.

Admission in IIT Kharagpur

Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses in IIT Kharagpur is conducted through written entrance examinations. Admission to undergraduate programmes in all IITs is tied to JEE Advanced. Candidates who qualify for admission through IIT-JEE can apply for admission in a four-year B.Tech (Bachelor of Technology) degree, a five-year B.Arch degree, a five-year Dual Degree (Integrated Bachelor & Master of Technology) or a five-year integrated M.Sc (Master of Sciences) at IIT Kharagpur.

Postgraduate degree programmes at IIT Kharagpur lead to Joint MTech / MCP-PhD, MBA and MMST degrees. In addition, the Institute also offers Integrated MSc programmes and Joint MSc-PhD programmes.

The Institute also offers joint MTech-PhD programmes in the following disciplines, entrance to which is through the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE).

Placement in IIT Kharagpur

IIT Kharagpur invites the best recruiters in the market during the internship and placement season covering various sectors such as Core Engineering, IT, Finance, Consulting, Automobiles, PSUs, etc. The sheer diversity of recruiters across all domains and the extensive participation of overseas companies is an epitome of the global stature of the brand IIT Kharagpur.

Doctoral degree: Ph.D

The wide variety of disciplines at IIT Kharagpur provides a unique environment that fosters both core and interdisciplinary research in diverse areas of emerging technology such as energy, nanotechnology, medical, bioengineering, and computational sciences.

The Institute provides facilities for research leading to the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D). The Ph.D degree is awarded on the basis of satisfactory performance of a registered candidate in the prescribed course work, comprehensive viva, seminar, the thesis submitted by the candidate and a final viva voce.

Departments in IIT Kharagpur

  • Aerospace Engineering
  • Agricultural and Food Engineering
  • Architecture and Regional Planning
  • Biotechnology
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Geology and Geophysics
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Ocean Engg and Naval Architecture
  • Physics

IIT KGP Centres

  • Rubber Technology
  • Steel Technology Centre
  • Reliability Engineering
  • Cryogenic Engineering
  • Materials Science
  • Oceans, Rivers, Atmosphere and Land Sciences
  • Rural Development Centre
  • Advanced Technology Development Centre
  • Centre for Educational Technology
  • Rekhi Centre for Science of Happiness
  • Deysarkar Centre Excellence in Petroleum Engineering
  • AI Centre of Excellence

IIT KGP Schools

  • School of Medical Science and Technology
  • School of Bioscience
  • School of Energy Science
  • School of Environmental Science and Engineering
  • G S Sanyal School of Telecommunications
  • Rajendra Mishra School of Engineering Entrepreneurship
  • Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law
  • Ranbir and Chitra Gupta School of Infrastructure Design and Management
  • Medical Science & Technology
  • School of Water Resources
  • Vinod Gupta School of Management
Contact Details

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Kharagpur, India - 721302

Connect me with the Top Colleges