Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University

Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University is state university established in 2012.The university was named after the 19th-century Rajbangshi leader and social reformist, Panchanan Barma also known as Thakur Panchanan and Roy Saheb. Thakur Panchanan Barma (1866 - 1935) was born at Khalisamari village in erstwhile Cooch Behar State. He graduated from Victoria College, Cooch Behar - which was then affiliated with the University of Calcutta

Currently there are approximately 30700 students of whom 29400 students are undergraduate students studying in fifteen colleges affiliated to Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University and 1300 students are post-graduate students of our University.

Departments in Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University

  • Department of Bengali
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of English
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of History
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Library and  Information Science
  • Department of Mathematics

Admission to UG Courses in Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University

Students seeking admission to undergraduate courses in Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University should have passed the Higher Secondary Examination conducted by the West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education or any other equivalent and recognised board. The candidate should has passed in at least four subjects with English as Compulsory Subject, excluding Environmental Studies/Environmental Education. Those students who have obtained either (i) 55% marks in the aggregate or (ii) 50% marks in the aggregate with 60% marks in the subject in the qualifying examinations shall be eligible to apply for admission to Honours in the subject concerned in general categories.

Admission to PG courses in Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University

The University offers 15 specializations in four major streams – M.A., M.Sc., M.Com., and L.L.M. Admission to the post-graduate programs start in the month of July every year.

Affiliated Colleges of Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University

A total of 15 colleges from Cooch Behar district are affiliated to the university.
  1. A.B.N Seal College
  2. Cooch Behar College
  3. Thakur Panchanan Mahila Mahavidyalaya
  4. Dinhata College
  5. Mathabhanga College
  6. Netaji Subhas Mahavidyalaya
  7. Mekliganj College
  8. Sitalkuchi College
  9. Government College of Physical Education for Women, Dinhata
  10. Baneswar Sarathibala Mahavidyalaya
  11. Ghoksadanga Birendra Mahavidyalaya
  12. Bakshirhat Mahavidyalaya
  13. Dewanhat Mahavidyalaya
  14. Madhusudan Hore Mahavidyalaya
  15. Tufanganj Mahavidyalaya
Contact Details

Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University
Panchanan Nagar, Vivekananda Street, Cooch Behar,
West Bengal, India - 736101

Connect me with the Top Colleges