Get All India Board Examination Results 2020

Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya

Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya was established in 1974 with the main objective to provide facilities for the study of Agriculture, Horticulture and Agricultural Engineering. It also conducts research in these fields and undertakes the educational programmes especially among the farming community in rural Bengal to disseminate the latest technology and knowledge of agriculture and farming.

College of Agriculture - Extended Campus of BCKV in Burdwan

Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya has an extended campus in Burdwan established under the guidance of the Chief Minster of Bengal,Smt. Mamata Banerjee on July 9, 2014. Though the region is affluent in  In spite of having immense potential to grow different crops of importance, the farmers of natural resources yet most  of the farmers grow only rice and potato.  Recently cultivation of jute and sugarcane is facing tremendous competition with the introduction of synthetic fibres.

Here comes the need of trained Agriculture Personnel to inculcate them regarding adoption of diversified and sustainable cropping pattern.

This resulted in the establishment of the extended campus in Burdwan. It started functioning from 21st July, 2014 initially with the strength of 31 students, 7 teachers and 5 office staff.

College of Agriculture - Extended Campus of BCKV, Bankura

College of Argiculture, Susunia, Bankura is an extended campus of Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya which was established on 20th July, 2015, inspired by Smt. Mamata Banerjee, Hon'ble Chief Minister of West Bengal.

Faculties in Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya

Faculty of Agriculture

The Faculty of Agriculture consists of sixteen departments. 100 students are admitted each year in the undergraduate courses on the basis of their performance at at the 10 plus 2 level.

At the postgraduate level normally 170 students and a good number of doctoral students take admission across all departments. The Departments of the Faculty of Agriculture are:

  • Department of Agronomy
  • Department of Agricultural Chemistry & Soil Science
  • Department of Agricultural Entomology
  • Department of Agricultural Chemicals
  • Department of Agriculture Biotechnology
  • Department of Soil & Water Conservation
  • Department of Plant Pathology
  • Department of Agricultural Meteorology & Physics
  • Department of Agricultural Extension
  • Department of Agricultural Statistics
  • Department of Agricultural Economics
  • Department of Genetics & Plant Breeding
  • Department of Plant Physiology
  • Department of Animal Science
  • Department of Agricultural Biochemistry
  • Department of Seed Science & Technology

Faculty of Horticulture

The Faculty of Horticulture was established in 1996 with five departments namely, the Department of Floriculture & Landscaping, the Department of Fruits & Orchard Management, the Department of Post Harvest Technology, the Department of Spices & Plantation Crops, and the Department of Vegetable Crops. Its main objective was to train students on horticulture and improve the condition of the farmers through trained personnel. The Departments of the Faculty of Horticulture are:

  • Department of Floriculture & Landscaping
  • Department of Fruits & Orchard Management
  • Department of Post Harvest Technology
  • Department of Spices & Plantation Crops
  • Department of Vegetable Crops
Faculty of Agricultural Engineering

The main aim behind setting up of this faculty is to make the nation self dependent on its demands of food and other agricultural products which are the minimum basic requirements of the human society. The departments of the Faculty of Agricultural Engineering are: 
  • Department of Farm Machinery & Power
  • Department of Soil and Water Engineering
  • Department of Post Harvest Engineering
  • Department of Food Engineering

Directorate of Research

The Directorate of Research carries out its research through various innovative programs.The entire research programme of the University is funded by different agencies with the major share coming from the ICAR and Government of West Bengal. In addition to these agencies, there are other national and international agencies, which provide funds for research.

Directorate of Extension Education

Established in 1994, the Directorate of Extension Education in Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, was created by upgradation of the “Field Extension Wing”, which took care of mainly the farm advisory services among a few villages, surrounding the headquarter campus of the Viswavidyalaya.

It conducts the following activities:

  • Technology Refinement and Upgradation
  • Technology Integration
  • Publication, Demonstration & Information Assistance
  • Participatory Techniques for Research and Extension
  • Training Module Development
  • Capacity Building

Directorate of Farms

It Functions in the realm of Agricultural research, Agricultural education and Agricultural extension.It conducts the following activities:

  • Support to research activities of AICRPs/AINPs and Dissertation works of students
  • Quality seed production
  • Production and distribution of 236 t quality seeds (Foundation/ Certified / TL) of paddy, wheat, oilseeds  and pulses during 2006-07 crop seasons
  • Supervises production of planting  materials of Mango, Cashew, Ber and Sweet Orange at  the RRS, Red & Laterite Zone, Jhargram, Paschim  Medinipur, West Bengal.

Admission in Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya

UG courses: 
Admission in all UG courses (except B Tech) offered at Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya is done on the basis of merit determined through the marks scored in the qualifying exam. For BTech programme admission is done through WBJEE scores.  For more information, click here

PG courses:
 Admission in all PG courses offered at Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya is done on the basis of the performance in the entrance exam. Candidates qualifying the entrance exam are allotted seats in their respective courses through counselling. For more information, click here

Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya
P.O. Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, 
Dist- Nadia, West Bengal, India, Pin-741252
Phone: 03473)-222269

Connect me with the Top Colleges