Bankura University

Establishment of Bankura University is a long cherished dream of the people of the region to have a University that caters to the higher learning needs of the local people. It was in 2013 that this dream was fulfilled by the Hon’ble Chief Minister Smt Mamata Bandyopadhyay and the Hon’ble Education Minister.Professor Deb Narayan Bandyopadhyay became the first Vice Chancellor of the University. It aims to disseminate higher learning of global standard keeping the indigenous flavour of the region alive. It is committed to research, learning and social commitment.

School Of Social Sciences:
  • Department Of Social Work
  • Department Of History
  • Department Of Philosophy
  • Department Of Law ( Llm)
  • Department Of Political Science
  • Department Of Education
School Of Literature, Language And Culture Studies
  • Department Of Bengali 
  • Department Of English
  • Department Of Sanskrit
  • Department Of Santali
School Of Science
  • Department Of Mathematics
  • Department Of Physics (Puabagan Campus)
  • Department Of Chemistry (Puabagan Campus)

Library Facilities in Bankura University

Within a short span of time, Bankura University has been able to establish a well stocked scholarly library. It is accessible to all students, scholars, teaching and non-teaching staff of the University.  It has also subscribed to Oxford University Press Journals Database Access and the students can access all the latest journals published around the world.

Foreign Collaborations / MOUs of Bankura University

To encourage research and exchange programmes, it has signed MOUs with the follwoing universities:
  • University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Universitat Rovira Virgili, Tarragona, Spain

Undergraduate Admission in Bankura University

For admission to undergraduate courses, candidates should complete (10 2) from any recognised board. For PG admission, an undergraduate degree of the same course is desirable. 

PostgraduateAdmission in Bankura University

The University accepts online applications for admission to M.A./M.Sc./M.SW/LL.M courses (Semester system) in: Bengali, Education, English, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Santali, Sanskrit, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry Social Work & Law.

Colleges Under Bankura University

The following colleges are affiliated under Bankura University:
  • Bankura Christian College
  • Bankura Zilla Saradamani Mahila Mahavidyapith
  • Pandit Raghunath Murmu Smriti Mahavidyalaya
  • Ramananda College
Contact Details

Bankura University
Main Campus (Beside NH 60),
Bankura Block – II, P.O.- Purandarpur,
Dist.- Bankura,  West Bengal, India.
PIN – 722 155
Puabagan Campus
Puabagan, PO- Bhagabandh,
Dist.- Bankura,  West Bengal, India.
PIN – 722 146
Mobile: 91 - 7478490543

Connect me with the Top Colleges